ECE Distinguished Lecturer Series - Aydogan Ozcan

ECE Distinguished Lecturer Series

John A. Rogers

University of Illinois

April 20, 2016

Electronics for the Human Body

Bio: John Rogers is the Swanlund Chair at the University of Illinois at Urbana/Champaign and Director of the Seitz Materials Research Laboratory. Rogersí research includes basic and applied aspects of materials for unusual electronic and photonic devices, with an emphasis on bio-integrated and bio-inspired systems. He has published more than 500 papers and is inventor on over 80 patents, more than 50 of which are licensed or in active use. Rogers is a Fellow of the IEEE, APS, MRS and AAAS, and a member of the National Academy of Engineering, the National Academy of Sciences and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. His research has been recognized with many awards, including the ACS Baekeland Award (2007), a MacArthur Fellowship (2009), the Lemelson-MIT Prize (2011), the MRS Mid-Career Researcher Award (2013), the Smithsonian Award for American Ingenuity (2013) and the ETH Zurich Chemical Engineering Medal (2015). Rogers earned his Ph.D. from MIT in 1995.