The Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering recognized outstanding students and alumni at ECE Research Day on May 2, 2018. “ECE Research Day demonstrates the breadth of student innovative projects and research, as well as the accomplishments of alumni,” said Ken Barner, Charles Black Evans Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering and chair of the department. The following students received awards:

  • Patrick Cronin, in collaboration with Yongpan Liu and advised by Chengmo Yang, won the computer engineering award for the project titled: A Collaborative Defense Against Wear Out Attacks in Non-Volatile Processors.
  • ANGELA CUADROS, advised by GONZALO ARCE, won the signal processing award for the project titled: Compressive Spectral X-ray CT Based on K-edge Coded Apertures
  • Dylan D. Ross and Conor J. Ryan, in collaboration with Janusz Murakowski, Garrett J. Schneider, and Christopher A. Schuetz and advised by Dennis Prather, won the nanoelectronics, electromagnetics and photonics award for their project titled: RF Imaging Based on k-Space Tomography.
  • William Beardell, Cooper Hurley, Jonathan Chann, Brian Kungl, James Holyoke, and Mohammed Baksh, advised by Ken Barner, won the Vertically Integrated Projects (VIP) award for their project titled: FLIE – Flying Labs employing Intelligent Engineering.
  • William Beardell, Cooper Hurley, and Kyle Weidmann won the undergraduate award for their project titled: Millimeter Wave Active Illumination.
  • Aric Lu, Ryan Beneck, Ben Steenkamer, and Anton Vasilyev won the Senior Capstone design award for ROCKSAT: Design and Assembly of Spaceflight Hardware.
News 2018 ECE Research Day